Engineering- IIT

The Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) are self-governing public technical universities spread throughout India. They are the most prestigious institutes in India, providing international engineering and technological education. IITs have built a world-class educational platform over the years that is dynamically sustained by quality teaching and internationally acclaimed research, as well as excellent infrastructure and the best available minds. Each IIT is autonomous, but they are linked to one another by a common council (the IIT Council), which oversees their administration.

IIT graduates hold important positions both in India and abroad. IITians are always at the top of the list when it comes to gaining admission to the most prestigious universities in the world or finding employment in any reputable organisation in the world.

Currently there are 23 IIT’s all across India

Sr No.NameAbbreviationLocation
1IIT Kharagpur               IITKGPWest Bengal
2IIT Bombay                  IITBMaharashtra
3IIT Madras          IITMTamil Nadu
4IIT Kanpur          IITKUttar Pradesh
5IIT Delhi              IITDDelhi
6IIT Guwahati                IITGAssam
7IIT RoorkeeIITRUttarakhand
8IIT Ropar             IITRPRPunjab
9IIT Bhubaneswar         IITBBSOdisha
10IIT Gandhinagar          IITGNGujrat
11IIT Hyderabad              IITHTelangana
12IIT Jodhpur                  IITJRajasthan
13IIT Patna             IITPBihar
14IIT Indore            IITIMadhya Pradesh
15IIT Mandi            IITMandiHimachal Pradesh
16IIT (BHU) Varanasi      IIT (BHU)Uttar Pradesh
17IIT Palakkad                 IITPKDKerala
18IIT Tirupati         IITTPAndhra Pradesh
19IIT (ISM) Dhanbad       IIT (ISM)Jharkhand
20IIT Dharwad                 IITDHKarnataka
21IIT Goa                IITGOAGoa
22IIT Jammu          IITJMUJammu & Kashmir
23IIT Bhilai             IITBHChhattisgarh

Entrance Exams to be given to apply for IIT’s

  • JEE Main
  • JEE Advanced


The Joint Entrance Examination – Main (JEE-Main), formerly known as the All India Engineering Entrance Examination (AIEEE), is a computer-based test administered across India for admission to various technical undergraduate programmes in engineering, architecture, and planning. The National Testing Agency is in charge of the examination (NTA). The JEE-Main rank is used to determine admission to B.Tech and B.Arch programmes at prestigious technical institutes such as the National Institutes of Technology and the Indian Institutes of Information Technology. The test has been done four times a year, from January to May, since 2021.   Exam Details of JEE Main JEE Main is accepted in these institutions – NIT’s/IIIT’s/GFTI’s

  • Exam Syllabus – 11th & 12th Std.
  • Mode – Online
  • Twice a year – Jan. and April
  • Subjects –Physics, Chemistry & Maths
  • Total Questions – 75 (25 each subject)
  • Total Marks – 300 (100 each)
  • Duration – 3 Hrs.
  • Marking Scheme – (+4, -1)
  • Eligibility: The applicants must have passed their 10+2 or equivalent examination with minimum 75% marks.
  • Website –


The Joint Entrance Examination – Advanced (JEE-Advanced), is an annual academic exam given in India. It is organised by one of the seven “old” IITs (IIT Roorkee, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Delhi, IIT Kanpur, IIT Bombay, IIT Madras, and IIT Guwahati) (JAB). Admission to Indian Institutes of Technology is based only on this requirement. Other institutions, such as the Indian Institute of Petroleum and Energy (IIPE), the Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology, the Indian Institute of Space Technology (IIST), the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISERs), and the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), use the JEE-Advanced exam score to determine admission. The JEE-Advanced score is also used as a criterion for admission to non-Indian universities such as the University of Cambridge and the National University of Singapore by Indian applicants.   Exam Details of JEE Advanced JEE Advanced is accepted in these institutions – IIT

  • Exam Syllabus – 11th & 12th
  • Mode – Online/Offline Subjects – PCM
  • Total Questions – Not fixed
  • Total Marks – Not fixed
  • Duration – 6 Hrs. (3 hrs. two slots)
  • Marking Scheme – Not fixed
  • Eligibility – Students must have passed the Class 12 exam. Only the top 2.5 lakh qualified students of JEE Main will be allowed to appear for JEE Advanced 2022.
  • Website –